Rescue Dawn (2006)

This is number 930 on IMDBs top 1000 movies.

Genre – Docudrama, military, POW

Is it worth watching? – Yes

Does it deserve its placement on this list? – yes

One sentence review – A surprisingly upbeat movie from director Werner Herzog.

While watching this movie, I wondered to myself, Christian Bale is such a good actor, why don’t I see him in movies anymore? Part of the answer is he plays a lot of rolls that involve gaining or losing a lot of weight. I wouldn’t be surprised if the total number of pounds lost and gained for his character rolls exceeded 500 pounds.

This movie is based on a true story of a German-American pilot who was a captive prisoner in Laos, during the Vietnam War. As with all movies based on real events, some parts of the story and characters are fictionalized, although the overall feel of the movie is quite authentic. It’s one of the best POW movies I’ve seen and is well worth watching.

Author: Aerevolt

I am an American woman in her mid-thirties with a STEM background. I have never taken a course in film studies, film appreciation, or anything of the sort. Until a few years ago, I had never seen the majority of the most highly rated movies of all time.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started